Home News Citymap Realestate Tourism Education Links Health



nehru trophy boat race 2011 winners

nehru trophy celebrates diamond jubilee

nehru trophy boat race starting date 2012 august 9,10,11

three day event this year

In a photo finish, snake boat Devas Chundan powered by oarsmen of Jesus Boat Club lifted the coveted silver trophy in the annual Nehru Trophy Boat Race, billed as the country's biggest water sporting event, at Punnamada Lake here that day. Devas whizzed past Karichal Chundan of Freedom Boat Club and Muttel Kainakari of United Boat Club in a thrilling race witnessed by hundreds, including a large number of foreign tourists. Over 4,000 oarsmen put on display their rowing skills in the event in which competitions were also held for different types of smaller craft. Union Health Minister Guhlam Nabi Azad had inaugurated the boat race, which was instituted in early 1950s, to commemorate Jawaharlal Nehru's boat ride in the backwaters of Kuttanad area during a visit to the state. The race of long and sleek 'snake boats', unique to Kerala and known as "chundam vallams in local parlance, is the highlight of the event in which 16 teams competed. Enchanted by the beauty of the palm-fringed villages on the banks of the backwaters and the sporting spirit of the people, Nehru suggested conduct of the boat race on an annual basis. He also sent the trophy to be given to the winning team. The boat race is held on second Saturday of August every year.

nehru trophy boat race 2012 ticket rate

nehru trophy boat race 2012 history

nehru trophy boat race 2012 accommodation

nehru trophy boat race 2011 winners

nehru trophy boat race 2012 location map

nehru trophy boat race 2012 photo gallery

a new nehru statue at nehru trophy boat race location